Historians have discovered that the Montafon had its first settlers over 5,000 years ago. Originally, inhabited by Rätoromanen from the Walgau and Graubünden many names have their origins in their language such as Tilisuna, Albona or Silvretta.
During the bronze-, silver- and middle ages, the Montafon was the center of mining of iron, copper and silver. From 1258 till 1418/20, the valley was part of the kingdom of the Count of Werdenberg. Between the years 1259 and 1296 the city Bludenz was founded.
Starting in the 15th century, the family Habsburger ruled the Montafon. From 1805 until 1814, the valley belong to the bavarian kingdom. However, since 1814 it once again part of Austria.
Retained from the 15th century is the Montafon coat of arms: two crossed keys as a sign of receptiveness.
Schruns-Tschagguns in the Montafon
Schruns is one of 11 villages in the Montafon. Together with its neighbor, Tschagguns, they combine to be the two main towns of the valley.
Until 1317, Schruns was known as Sankt Jossen. Until 1430, names like Schirun, Scherun and St. Josen in Schriuns were used.
During the winter of of 1926, the world famous and nobelist Ernest Hemingway spent 3 months in Schruns. He writes about his experiences in the book ‘The Snows of Kilimanjaro’.
In 1928 Schruns was awarded the title market community due to the famous cow market. Due to this market, the emblem of Schruns also includes a bull.
Tourism in Schruns started to pick up after World War II and has been growing ever since. Already the Swiss writer Jakob Christoph Heer said ‘Schruns is more like a charming small city than a tiny village’. It is the ideal starting point for your adventures.